Sunday, August 04, 2013

Settlements plus peace?

This came in today from Lior Amihai of the Peace Now group - +972-50-864-1433

Israeli Government Declares 91 settlements As National Priority Areas:
89 of them East of the Built Separation Barrier.

Today, the Government of Israel approved the National Priority Area list. National Priority Areas are intended to “encourage development and the advancement of areas or communities that the government has decided are a national priority.” The 2013 National Priority Areas list includes 91 settlements: 75 located east of the built separation barrier, 14 within the planned route of the barrier, and two (Eshkolot, Sansana) inside the built barrier.

Since the last National Priority Area list was released, nine settlements have been added, while three were removed (Efrat, Beitar Illit, Kedar). The new additions include the settlements of Eshkolot, Bruchin, Geva Binyamin/Adam, Hebron, Ma’ale Mechmash, Negohot, Nofim, Sansana and Rehalim. Until recently, Bruchin, Sansana and Rehalim were illegal outposts, however they were retroactively legalized as new ‘neighborhoods’ during the previous Netanyahu  government.

No comments: